Event 5: Wanlop Phonphornwithroon Wins First WSOPC Ring

2019 September WSOP Circuit
Seminole Casino CoconutĀ  Creek
Event 5
$400 Double Stack Turbo NLH (Re-Entry)
$50,000 Guaranteed
Entries: 209
Prize Pool: $68,970
September 23, 2019

Wanlop Phonphornwithoon, Double Stack Turbo Champ

There was only one new tournament on today’s WSOP Circuit schedule and it lived up to its name. Event 5 was a $400 Double Stack Turbo tournament that flew from start to finish. When the dust settled, Wanlop Phonphornwithroon got hot at the end to win his first WSOP Circuit ring.

Event 5 drew 209 entries to blast past the $50,000 guaranteed prize pool and put nearly $70,000 up for grabs. That entry number represents the biggest WSOPC $400 Double Stack Turbo we’ve ever run. The last 32 spots were paid and the field was in the money shortly after the dinner break.

From that point, they averaged an elimination every couple of minutes until they were at the final table far faster than anyone anticipated. Even as a turbo.

Raymond Grell and recent WSOP Circuit winner Irene Carey were the two biggest stacks to start the final table but Phonphornwithoon was not that far behind. He took command with a final table double elimination to start things off and never gave up the lead.

In less than one hour, the final table ten was all the way down until Phonphornwithoon had chips owned all the chips after getting fellow WSOP Circuit winner Elliott Merlin all in drawing dead on the last hand.

“I ran really hot. I had a lot of pocket pairs, flopped sets, turned a nut flush.” Phonphronwithoon said after his win. “Everything was just going my way. It was unbelievable.”

Event 5 results:

1st: Wanlop Phonphornwithoon – $16,720 + WSOP Circuit ring
2nd: Elliott Merlin – $10,335
3rd: Pasquale Caiazza – $7,285
4th: Irene Carey – $5,239
5th: Robbie Beck – $3,845
6th: Raymond Grell – $2,882
7th: Ken Brosnahan – $2,207
8th: Stephen Vecchio – $1,727
9th: Yue Wang – $1,382
10th: Gil Aboodi – $1,131
11th: Jeffrey Silverstein – $1,131
12th: Nicholas Visconti – $1,131
13th: Selim Hamadache – $948
14th: Scot Hartman – $948
15th: Eric Brewster – $948
16th: Nizar Dajani – $813
17th: Francis Margaglion – $813
18th: Mark Amaral – $813
19th: Caleb Hershey – $715
20th: Rattan Dulan – $715
21st: Bob Beck – $715
22nd: Howard Mash – $645
23rd: Michael Harrison – $645
24th: Michael Ciaravino – $645
25th: Steven Karp – $596
26th: Kent Walker – $596
27th: Brett Feder – $596
28th: Solange Lucas – $566
29th: Nagui Yassa – $566
30th: Robert Tannenbaum – $566
31st: Scott Hecker – $553
32nd: Jason Casten – $553