Steven Sarmiento Wins WSOP Circuit Coco Main Event Championship

2019 September WSOP Circuit
Seminole Casino Coconut Creek
$1,700 WSOP Circuit Coco Main Event
$1,000,000 Guaranteed
Entries: 617
Prize Pool: $1,000,000
September 27-30, 2019

Steven Sarmiento, WSOP Circuit Main Event champion

The headline tournament on the WSOP Circuit schedule was the $1,000,000 Guaranteed Main Event. A four-day tournament with two starting flights and it drew 617 entries. Steven Sarmiento did not lead until late but he had all the chips at the end to become the WSOP Circuit Main Event champion while earning $188,158.

“I pretty much smooth sailed, it was a good few days,” Sarmiento commented after his win. “I’m super excited.”

Day 2 saw 121 players return with 93 of them set to get a piece of the $1,000,000 prize pool. The field quickly made it into the money before the first break of the day and only 11 players remained at the end of Day 2.

Nick Yunis held a big lead coming into the final day and everything was smooth for the Chilean pro until they were short-handed. The tournament saw seven players eliminated in the first two hours of Day 3 but play slowed down with the last four holding deep stacks. Neal Corcoran took the lead from Yunis for a bit until Sarmiento went on a heater.

Sarmiento eliminated Yunis in fourth and Russell Sullivan in third to create the heads-up match for the tournament. He had nearly a two-to-one lead before Corcorcan temporarily pulled back into the lead. That’s where the good news ended for Corcoran as Sarmiento pulled all the major pots from that point forward to take the title and $188,158 along with a seat in the WSOP Global Casino Championship.

“I really didn’t have any issues at any point until the end where I was heads-up,” Sarmiento said. “I had the chip lead on him but he took it back and then I had to battle back.”

Congratulations to Steven and thank you too all of our players for another great WSOP Circuit Main Event.

Final table results:

1st: Steven Sarmiento – $188,158 + GCC Seat
2nd: Neal Corcoran – $116,291
3rd: Russell Sullivan – $86,060
4th: Nick Yunis – $64,423
5th: Dominque Mosley – $48,789
6th: Matthew Yorra – $37,386
7th: Todd Mercer – $28,990
8th: Daniel Couzens – $22,752
9th: Thomas Macey – $18,075

Complete Main Event Results