Event 5: Final Results

Seminole Hard Rock Poker presents
Coco Poker Open at Coconut Creek
$250 No Limit Hold’em Black Chip Bounty
September 30 – October 1, 2014

Total Entries: 122
Total Prize Pool: $27,090

Richard Kessler, Event 5 Champion
Richard Kessler, Event 5 Champion

The fifth event of the 2014 Coco Poker Open drew a nice crowd of players looking to capture the title but also knock a few opponents out along the way. After 22 levels of play, local grinder Richard Kessler was the last player standing when he picked up a couple of bounties to go with $4,684 he earned for the title.

The tournament featured a $25,000 guaranteed prize pool and they exceeded that number to pay out $27,090 to the players. Each player had $100 of their buy-in on their heads in the form of a knock out bounty, this added incentive kept the aggression high throughout the tournament.

The event was initially scheduled to play down to a winner in one day but the size of the field meant the final nine players would return for an extra day of action. Local Steven Bennett began the restart with the chip lead and they lost several players in a hurry.

Andres Morals, Linroy Freeman, and Paul Steiner all began the day with shorter stacks but were unable to find a way to give themselves a change at the title. Paula Alibrandi sat back and let that trio hit the payout desk before she finally dropped out in 4th spot.

Man Le, Richard Kessler, and Bennett traded the lead after a long three-handed process but Bennett was finally able to knock out his nemesis. They heads up battle also went back and forth before Bennett took a stand with As2h but could not beat the 8s8d of Kessler.

Richard Kessler earned the biggest tournament cash of his career and his first since a final table finish during the 2014 WPT Lucky Hearts Poker Open.


1stRichard Kessler$4,684
2ndSteven Bennett$2,696
3rdMan Le$1,774
4thPaula Alibrandi$1,206
5thLee Klosty$958
6thDavid Greeley$745
7thPaul Steiner$603
8thLinroy Freeman$461
9thAndres Morales$319
10thMichael Larkin$248
11thHeidi Erickson$248
12thLouis Leo IV$248