Event 3: Jose Reyes Takes Home First WSOP Circuit Ring

2018 World Series of Poker Circuit
Seminole Casino Coconut Creek
Coconut Creek, Florida
Event 3
$580 No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
$50,000 Guarantee
Entries: 136
Prize Pool: $68,000
February 11-12, 2018

The first weekend of the Seminole Coconut Creek WSOP Circuit series wrapped up with a big $580 buy-in, $50,000 Guarantee tournament that drew a big Sunday crowd. There were 136 entries in the game and it was local favorite Jose Reyes topping them all to win the title along with $19,039 and the WSOP Circuit ring.

The Coral Springs, FL resident has tournament wins from Massachusetts to Pennsylvania to our sister room in Hollywood but this is his first cash and win here. It was a big one.

The tournament bested the $50,000 guaranteed prize pool to put $68,000 up for grabs with the last 15 players earning some money. Day 1 played down to the final table and they continued until only three players remained. Reyes bagged up his chips along with Frank Muir and Jorge Aristizabal for a short Day 2 return.

In no time at all after the restart, Reyes wrapped things up in The Pavilion after quickly dispatching Muir and Aristizabal for the tournament win in less than ten minutes.

Reyes is generally a cash game player but decided to take more shots in the bigger tournaments. He picked up some pointers after spending nearly three hours on a plane with 2014 WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown Champion Eric Afriat.

“He just told me to be patient. Take things seriously, don’t rush.” Reyes said of Afriat. “Everything is about knowing exactly what’s going to happen at the right time.”

That advice worked and Reyes picked up his first major title and third biggest cash of his career. His top prize came with a two-table, 15th place finish in this summer’s WSOP $888 Crazy Eights event.

A great start to the series for Reyes and a good setup heading into the WSOP Circuit Main Event next weekend.

Event 3 results:

1st: Jose Reyes – $19,039 + Gold ring
2nd: Frank Muir – $11,768
3rd: Jorge Aristizabal – $8,495
4th: Kammar Andries – $6,242
5th: Steven Richardson – $4,666
6th: Phil Hui – $3,548
7th: Gerald Fehr – $2,742
8th: Israel Tzivin – $2,154
9th: Gary Thill – $1,720
10th: Guillermo Hamilton – $1,394
11th: Shawn Daigle – $1,394
12th: Jacobo Fernandez – $1,394
13th: Kevin Chan – $1,148
14th: Marcus Gurley – $1,148
15th: Paul Balzano – $1,148