Event 1: Martin Ryan Earns Fifth WSOP Circuit Ring

2018 World Series of Poker Circuit
Seminole Casino Coconut Creek
Coconut Creek, Florida
Event 1
$365 No Limit Hold’em Re-Entry
Entries: 318
Prize Pool: $95,400
February 8, 2018

Martin Ryan, Event 1 Champion

The World Series of Poker Circuit series kicked off with a bang in the opening event and it nearly doubled its $50,000 guarantee coming out of the gates. Event 1 drew 318 entries and Martin Ryan outlasted everyone to earn his fifth career WSOP Circuit ring along with $22,416.

That entry count in the $365 buy-in tournament created a prize pool worth $95,400 and the last 33 players earned a piece. A min-cash picked up $570 but all were aiming for that top prize and the gold ring.

The tournament drew plenty of familiar faces with Jeff Kessler, Nancy Thomas, Bryce McVay, and Joelle Guarino making the dinner break along with WSOP bracelet winner, plus four-time WSOP Circuit champ, Phil Hui and 2016 Coco Poker Open winner Stuart Paterson.

There were 70 players remaining on that hour-long break from the tables and the pace was quick after they returned to their seats. They were on the verge of the money bubble two hours later and in the money soon after the post-dinner break.

Ryan was at or near the top of the counts during that time and traded the lead with McVay and Chris Halkitis along his way to the final table. When the tournament reached ten players, they joined together as one with Edward Novak leading closely followed by Ryan and McVay.

The action was fast at the start of the final table with Marc Anderson, Nancy Thomas, Paulius Bikus, and Jeff Charlton hitting the payout desk early. Chris Halkitis had a tough run at the final table and had to settle for a fifth-place payout with Danny Calway-Fagen following on his heels.

Novak’s final table lead evaporated as McVay built a huge stack in three-hand action. Ryan doubled twice through McVay to take the lead and then he eliminated Novak to set up the heads-up match for the ring.

It took only ten minutes to finish it off with Ryan knocking out McVay with flopped two pair. It was a tough finish for McVay but he banked $13,862 for his runner-up finish. Ryan was happy with his win, his fifth career WSOP Circuit title, and took him more than $22,000 along with a new ring.

“I was chip leader for most of the way until we reached the final table,” Ryan commented. “And I just took it back. I’m very aggressive, everyone knows that. I can play.”

The 56-year-old Trinidad resident earned his first WSOP Circuit ring at the end of 2016 and added three more within a few months.

Ryan plans to return tomorrow morning for Flight A of Event 2 and hopes to make Day 2 early so he can take a day off on Saturday.

“I want to qualify tomorrow so Saturday I can go to the flea market” he laughed.

Congratulations to Ryan for the great run and a fine accomplishment with enough rings to fill one hand.

Event 1 results:

1st: Martin Ryan – $22,416 + Gold Ring
2nd: Bryce McVay – $13,862
3rd: Edward Novak – $10,068
4th: Danny Calway-Fagen – $7,436
5th: Dennis Rodriguez – $5,583
6th: Chris Halkitis – $4,258
7th: Jeff Charlton – $3,298
8th: Paulius Bikus – $2,593
9th: Nancy Thomas – $2,069
10th: Marc Anderson – $1,676
11th: Richard Shtrax – $1,676
12th: Dani Dayan – $1,676
13th: Jeff Kessler – $1,378
14th: Jeff Silverstein – $1,378
15th: Michael Goldfarb – $1,378
16th: Carmelo Maldonado – $1,149
17th: Vinicius Monteiro – $1,149
18th: Richard Vielhak – $1,149
19th: Matthew Ewert – $971
20th: Elliot Press – $971
21st: Zaki Lichaa – $971
22nd: Donald Dowler – $833
23rd: John Gorsuch – $833
24th: Phil Hui – $833
25th: John Spadavecchia – $724
26th: Ricardo Eyzaguirre – $724
27th: Waymond Jones II – $724
28th: Joelle Guarino – $638
29th: Stuart Paterson – $638
30th: Osvaldo Legrand – $638
31st: Ebrahim Figueroa – $570
32nd: Vito Polera – $570
33rd: Robert Irby – $570