Event 1: Final Results

Seminole Hard Rock Poker presents
Coco Poker Open at Coconut Creek
$350 Deep Stack No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
September 25 to September 29 , 2014

Total Entries: 984
Total Prize Pool: $295,200

Steven McKoy, Event 1 Champion
Steven McKoy, Event 1 Champion

The first event of the 2014 Coco Poker Open took longer to find a winner than what was scheduled. It took an extra day but Birmingham, AL grinder Steven McKoy was the last player standing in the end, taking home $42,130 for his efforts.

Event 1 drew 984 entrants to the $350 buy-in No Limit Hold’em tournament which boasted a $250,000 guarantee. The field easily surpassed that number and the final 90 players each took home part of the $295,200 prize pool after five starting flights. Adewale Adeyemi began Day 2 with 410,700 and the lead but the best he could manage was a 65th place finish.

They hit the money midway though Day 2 when Scott Zahkeim knocked out the 91st player with a two-out King on the river. The field slowly shrank until there were only 10 players remaining and play stopped at 3am.

Play wouldn’t last long on the final bonus day of poker when four players were quickly eliminated in less than one level. McKoy began the final table with the lead and moved even further ahead when he knocked out Philip Randazzo with Quad Tens.

The final six players paused the clock to work with tournament staff on a deal. Each finally agreed after a longer process than the final table play. McKoy was crowned champion while the rest were happy with their numbers.

The cash moves McKoy over $450,000 in career earnings and his fifth title. It also puts him in eighth on the All-Time Money list for the state of Alabama.

Final Table Results:

1stSteven McKoy$42,130
2ndJoe Zelnick$34,555
3rdCarlos Loving$30,923
4thDavid Gelley$28,129
5thStewart Newman$26,017
6thJulio Fernandez$22,646
7thPhilip Randazzo$7,675
8thScott Zakheim$5,609
9thLeo Louis$3,985
10thPaul Berenson$2,863