2015 Coco Poker Open Championship Recap

2015 Coco Poker Open
$2,500 Coco Poker Open Championship
$1,000,000 Guaranteed Prize Pool

October 1-5, 2015

Total Entries:  410
Total Prize Pool: $1,000,000

Matt Affleck, 2015 Coco Poker Open Champion
Matt Affleck, 2015 Coco Poker Open Champion


The 2015 Coco Poker Open Championship was the big event on the two week schedule and attracted players from around the world. There were 410 entrants for the tournament this year and it was Hard Rock Poker ambassador Matt Affleck taking the title along with the $264,000 prize money.

The Championship event featured three starting flights and the surviving players after ten levels returned for Day 2 on Sunday. It was a long day and they didn’t hit the money with 45 players remaining until after the dinner break. From there it moved quickly and the field was ready to move on to the last day of the Championship.

Local pro Chance Kornuth finished strong on Day 2 and came to the final day with a big chip lead over the remaining 27 players. That’s where the good news ended for Kornuth, nothing went his way on Monday and he was eliminated in 12th place.

The final table ten were joined as one when 2014 Coco Poker Open Champion John Dolan went out in 11th, a  great result for the former WSOP November Niner. Seminole Hard Rock Poker ambassador Michael Laake went out in 10th and the final table was moved into the high limit room.

They quickly played down until just three players were around and each guaranteed at least $100,000 with Affleck holding a commanding lead. Each had top results in their past but only one would earn the title. Cord Garcia, 2015 WSOP Colossus Champion, went out in 3rd place and Gaspard lasted only a few hands before Affleck sent him out in 2nd.

The Championship trophy belonged to Affleck along with the $264,000 payday, the second largest of his career behind his 15th place result in the 2010 WSOP Main Event.

2015 Coco Poker Open Championship Results:

1st: Matt Affleck – $264,000
2nd: Jean Gaspard – $155,000
3rd: Cord Garcia – $100,500
4th: Nathan Bjerno – $70,000
5th: Kevin Ho – $50,500
6th: James Brown – $40,500
7th: Danny Notice – $31,000
8th: Andre Pillow – $22,000
9th: Ioannis Patsourakis – $16,000
10th: Michael Laake – $12,000
11th: John Dolan – $12,000
12th: Chance Kornuth – $12,000
13th: Javier Zarco – $9,500
14th: Richard Leger – $9,500
15th: Hunter Cichy – $9,500
16th: Peter Walsworth – $8,000
17th: Jonathan Abla – $8,000
18th: Bienvenido Santiago – $8,000
19th: T.K. Miles – $7,000
20th: Alberto Rodriguez – $7,000
21st: Brandon Miller – $7,000
22nd: Shea Smith – $7,000
23rd: John Holley – $7,000
24th: Joshua Hillock – $7,000
25th: Tristan Wade – $7,000
26th: Scott Zakheim – $7,000
27th: John Depersio – $7,000
28th: Neil Blumenfield – $6,000
29th: Scott Efron – $6,000
30th: Evan Teitelbaum – $6,000
31st: Vu Tuan – $6,000
32nd: Zachary Goodman – $6,000
33rd: Jerry Wong – $6,000
34th: Steven McKoy – $6,000
35th: David Barbieri – $6,000
36th: Harvey Freedman – $6,000
37th: Mohammed Jaafar – $5,000
38th: Corey Burbick – $5,000
39th: Chris Bolek – $5,000
40th: James Carroll – $5,000
41st: Alfonso Perez – $5,000
42nd: Roberto Barreto – $5,000
43rd: Hans Winzeler – $5,000
44th: Stewart Newman – $5,000
45th: Eric Becks – $5,000