2016 Poker Open

2016 Coco Poker Open Leaderboard Final Standings

Here’s a look at the Coco Poker Open Tournament Leaderboard top 10 finishers, their total points and corresponding payouts.

Prizes can be collected in the poker room. Thank you for playing!

1. Rafael Indriago – 462.52 – $1,200
2. John Holley – 421.76 – $500
3. Daniel Genachte – 351.64 – $250
4. Evan Dollinger – 326.74 – $250
5. Elliott Zaydman – 306.55 – $250
6. Stu Paterson  – 271.83 – $199
7. George Duffield – 258.57 – $199
8. Blaine McRae – 253.87 – $199
9. Frank Giordano – 251.38 – $199
10. Lisa Teebagy – 238.54 – $199

A Look Back at the 2016 Coco Poker Open


The 2016 Coco Poker Open ran September 21st-October 2nd at Seminole Casino Coconut Creek in Coconut Creek, Florida. In that time, 15 players became South Florida champions with Ian O’Hara taking the headline as the Championship winner. O’Hara outlasted 331 players in the $2,500 event to earn $212,830 along with a $5,250 seat in next summer’s Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open in Hollywood.

Ian O'Hara
Ian O’Hara

Joining O’Hara as a series headliner was Stu Paterson. Paterson, who won the Coco Poker Showdown Championship in January of this  year, bested 769 entries in the $350 buy-in, $250,000 guarantee event to earn $38,941 following an eight-way chop.

Stuart Paterson, Event 13 Champion
Stu Paterson

Here’s a look at all 15 Coco Poker Open primary event winners:

That’s a wrap on the Coco Poker Open. Thanks for following along!

Event 15: Jonathan Rosa Leads as Ten Survivors Paid

2016 Coco Poker Open
Seminole Casino Coconut Creek
Coconut Creek, FL
Event #15
$140 No Limit Hold’em Survivor (Re-Entry)
Entries: 59
Prize Pool: $10,000
October 2, 2016

Event 15 winners
Event 15 winners

The last tournament on the 2016 Coco Poker Open schedule was a nice Survivor tournament to end the series on a Sunday afternoon/evening. The tournament drew 59 entrants with the last ten players dividing up the $10,000 prize pool.

The tournament quickly played down to the last two tables when things stalled as they neared the money. It played very much like a satellite where everyone was aiming for the same prize. There was little cause to mix it up with speculative hands with the deep, slow structure.

They approached the bubble after nearly six hours of play and they reached the money when Jonathan Rosa moved all-in with 5d2d after the KdTd5c flop, then hit his flush on the turn to best KcQh. His opponent was eliminated, the final ten players were in the money, and Rosa had the biggest stack at the end.

That hand concluded the 2016 Coco Poker Open, a great series with big money and incredible players.

Event 13 Results:

1st: David Coughlin – $1,000
2nd: Scott Krautman – $1,000
3rd: Rickey Barger – $1,000
4th: Oneil McCalla – $1,000
5th: Roger Andreu – $1,000
6th: John DiPietro – $1,000
7th: Paul Steiner – $1,000
8th: Evan Dollinger – $1,000
9th: Anthony Vulpis – $1,000
10th: Jonathan Rosa – $1,000

Event 13: Stuart Paterson Dominates Day 2 to Win Title

2016 Coco Poker Open
Seminole Casino Coconut Creek
Coconut Creek, FL
Event #13
$350 No Limit Hold’em
Entries: 769
Prize Pool: $250,000
September 29-October 2, 2016

Stuart Paterson, Event 13 Champion
Stuart Paterson, Event 13 Champion

The biggest tournament outside the Coco Poker Open Championship was the $250,000 Guaranteed Event 13 No Limit Hold’em tournament on the last weekend of the series. It drew 769 entrants over multiple starting days and it was popular local pro Stuart Paterson outlasting them all to earn the title.

Event 13 had six starting flights spread over three days and the biggest crowd came out on Saturday evening. Each flight played down to 9% of its starting field to make the money and surviving players returned for Day 2.

There were 73 players back on Sunday with Phil Hernz as the big leader. He would not play a part in the latter parts of the tournament as Paterson asserted his skills early to build the biggest stack in the room.

The tournament quickly dropped down to 12 players at the dinner break and two quick eliminations afterward set the final table. SHRP regulars Michael Newman and Nancy Birnbaum went out in 10th and 9th place respectively and the last eight decided to negotiate a deal to chop up the remaining prize pool.

It took some effort but they eventually worked it out. Paterson was declared the champion with his huge chip lead while the other seven players earned a little extra money based on their position.

This is the second big Coco Poker score for Paterson in less than a year. In January, Paterson was the last player standing in the 161-entrant field during the 2016 Coco Poker Showdown Championship. He earned more than $32,000 for that victory and nearly another $39,000 for this title to push him over $800,000 in career tournament earnings.

Event 13 results:

1st: Stuart Paterson – $38,941
2nd: John Spadavecchia – $27,305
3rd: Jeff Charlton – $20,795
4th: Vlad Grach – $18,422
5th: Andrew Martin – $17,811
6th: David Maslowski – $16,711
7th: Elliott Zaydman – $15,746
8th: Andrew Bennis – $15,684
9th: Nancy Birnbaum – $3,488
10th: Michael Newman – $2,494

Event 15: Registration Closed; Final Ten Split $10,000

$140 No Limit Hold’em Survivor (Re-Entry)
Level 9: 600/1,200/200 Ante
Players Remaining: 17 of 59

While the Event 13 field was playing down to a winner, registration closed on the final event of the 2016 Coco Poker Open. The $140 No Limit Hold’em Survivor tournament drew 59 entrants so the final table ten will each split the $10,000 prize pool.

2016 Coco Poker Open
Seminole Casino Coconut Creek
Coconut Creek, FL
Event #15
$140 No Limit Hold’em Survivor (Re-Entry)
Entries: 59
Prize Pool: $10,000
October 2, 2016


Tournament Series